Articles from August 2022

JPEC_Honors_Graphic 2022

Iowa JPEC Recognizes Prineas and Toor as Iowa Innovators of the Year

The University of Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (Iowa JPEC) will honor  Profs. John Prineas and Fatima Toor as Iowa Innovators of the Year at its Innovation and Entrepreneurship Honors event on Sept. 9 at 4:30 p.m. at the Old Capitol Museum in Iowa City.

Skiff Awarded Grant from Dept. of Energy for Plasma Science Research

Professor Fred Skiff has been awarded a $660,965 grant  from the Department of Energy for a project entitled “Ion Kinetic Degrees of Freedom in a Plasma with Complex Orbits.”

UI Physics and Astronomy Students Awarded ISGC Research Scholarships

The NASA Iowa Space Grant Consortium (ISGC) has selected six University of Iowa Physics and Astronomy students as undergraduate research fellows. They will be awarded $5,000 scholarships to support research projects in coordination with a faculty mentor.
Allison Jaynes  DI heliophysics award

Jaynes to Serve on National Academies’ Heliophysics Decadal Survey Steering Committee

Allison Jaynes, Associate Professor in the University of Iowa Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been selected to serve on the Solar and Space Physics (Heliophysics) Decadal Survey Steering Committee, established by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. As a member of the Decadal Survey Committee, Professor Jaynes will help will set NASA's priorities in solar and space physics for the next ten years and beyond.
CanSAT 2022 build

CanSat Annual Competition Open to Students

Students can get a head start on an aerospace career by entering the 2023 CanSat Competition. Not just a paper exercise, CanSat is an annual competition in which college and university teams from around the world participate in a scored and judged design-build-launch project to see who can best meet assigned mission requirements.
Donald Gurnett, Ph.D.

Gurnett Named Distinguished Alumni

The University of Iowa Center for Advancement is posthumously honoring Professor Donald Gurnett with a Distinguished Alumni Faculty Award.