Alumni News

A magnetic screening apparatus

Former Student Develops Magnetic Cleanliness Screening Apparatus for TRACERS

Tuesday, March 5, 2024
The journal Geoscientific Instrumentation, Methods and Data Systems recently published an article "Automated static magnetic cleanliness screening for the TRACERS small-satellite mission" by former undergraduate student Cole Dorman, who was in Associate Professor David Miles' group when he completed this work.

Former PhD Student Earns AAS Award

Friday, March 1, 2024
Professor Kristopher Klein of the University of Arizona has been named the winner of the American Astronomical Society Solar Physics Division 2024 Harvey Prize. Dr. Klein received his PhD from the University of Iowa in Fall 2013.

Physics Alumni Awarded Grant to Investigate 'Brain on a Chip'

Thursday, September 21, 2023
Yohannes Abate, Susan Dasher and Charles Dasher MD Professor of Physics in the University of Georgia Franklin College of Arts and Sciences department of physics and astronomy, has been awarded a $1.25 million grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Experimental Physics Investigators Initiative. Abate received a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Iowa in 2006 and was a student of Prof. Paul Kleiber.
Sawsan Daws at graduation

UI encouraged alumna Sawsan Daws to continue leading in STEM

Tuesday, April 11, 2023
Sawsan Daws graduated from the University of Iowa (UI) in 2020 with a Bachelor of Science degree in applied physics with a concentration in optics. Originally from Saudi Arabia, Daws chose to pursue her undergraduate studies in STEM at the UI because she was intrigued by the research facilities and resources the UI offered to its students. 
SpaceX crew-6 launch

Hawkeye alumni view SpaceX launch

Thursday, March 2, 2023
University of Iowa alumni and SpaceX employees, Zachary Luppen and Suman Sherwani, watched the successful launch of Crew-6 to the International Space Station.
James Schroeder Wheaton College

UI Physics Alumni Receives AAS Early Career Award

Tuesday, January 10, 2023
The Laboratory Astrophysics Division (LAD) of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) is presenting its 2023 Early Career Award to Professor James W. R. Schroeder of Wheaton College, who received his PhD in physics from the University of Iowa. The award recognizes Prof. Schroeder’s experimental confirmation of the acceleration of auroral electrons by Alfvén waves in the laboratory.
Brian metzger

Iowa Public Radio: What are the origins of gold in the universe? UI alum Brian Metzger found the answer

Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Gold is a metal, but, surprisingly, we know little about its origins. How is gold made? How did it get on earth? Why is gold more rare than other metals on Earth? Being the stuff of legends, these seem like questions we should have answered long ago. It turns out Burlington-local Brian Metzger was recently able to bring some clarity to these long-standing questions. Metzger studied math and physics at the University of Iowa and went on to receive his Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.
Taviare Hawkins

Q&A: Alumnus Taviare Hawkins forged her own path in physics; now she meets students where they are

Tuesday, June 8, 2021
For years Taviare Hawkins avoided giving talks about being a Black woman in physics. “I didn’t want to be pigeonholed,” she says; she wanted to be known for her science. Eventually, though, through a zigzagging path that included good mentors, personal initiative, and several jobs, she came to see the importance of serving as a visible role model.
Brian Metzger

Alum, Brian Metzger receives Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists

Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Brian Metzger, who earned BS degrees from Iowa in physics, astronomy, and math in 2003 and is now on the faculty at Columbia University, received the Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists as their 2020 Laureate in Physical Sciences & Engineering.

Congratulations to Dr. Samuel Brensinger for winning the 2020 D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize

Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Congratulations to Dr. Samuel Brensinger for winning the 2020 D.C.