Alumni Profiles

Josh Larson
I had a chance to work with students and researchers across the country and the globe. Learning that you cannot do everything on your own and leaning on others’ expertise helped me to develop as a student and researcher.
Joshua Larson Class of 2019

Alumni News

James Schroeder Wheaton College

UI Physics Alumni Receives AAS Early Career Award

The Laboratory Astrophysics Division (LAD) of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) is presenting its 2023 Early Career Award to Professor James W. R. Schroeder of Wheaton College, who received his PhD in physics from the University of Iowa. The award recognizes Prof. Schroeder’s experimental confirmation of the acceleration of auroral electrons by Alfvén waves in the laboratory.
Brian metzger

Iowa Public Radio: What are the origins of gold in the universe? UI alum Brian Metzger found the answer

Gold is a metal, but, surprisingly, we know little about its origins. How is gold made? How did it get on earth? Why is gold more rare than other metals on Earth? Being the stuff of legends, these seem like questions we should have answered long ago. It turns out Burlington-local Brian Metzger was recently able to bring some clarity to these long-standing questions. Metzger studied math and physics at the University of Iowa and went on to receive his Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.
Brian Metzger

Alum, Brian Metzger receives Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists

Brian Metzger, who earned BS degrees from Iowa in physics, astronomy, and math in 2003 and is now on the faculty at Columbia University, received the Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists as their 2020 Laureate in Physical Sciences & Engineering.
Iowa logo block text

Update your information

Stay connected to the department and university by making sure your contact information is current. 

envelope icon

Sign up for the Iowa Newsletter

Receive the latest news and information for Hawkeyes in your email inbox. Sign up to receive the Iowa Newsletter.

open book icon

Check out Iowa Magazine

Read stories of Hawkeyes making a difference in Iowa and around the world.