Tuesday, April 23, 2024

The Department of Physics and Astronomy honored several students, faculty, and staff for their achievements on April 23 at the 2024 Awards Colloquium.

The Colloquium included recognition of 2023-2024 graduating seniors and advanced degree recipients. See the program for a full listing. 

See the image gallery for photos of the award recipients. Departmental Chair and Prof. Hallsie Reno recognized the undergraduate awardees, while Prof. Vince Rodgers recognized the graduate awardees.

Undergraduate Awards

Brian D. Strayer & Richard L. Rairden Scholarship in Physics: Arissa Khan, Andrew Milne (renewal)

James A. Van Allen Award: Aditya Desai, Jeff Leiberton

Myrtle K. Maier Scholarship: Ashley Lindquist, Emerson Peters

Distinguished Service Award: Emma Burzynski

Undergraduate Scholar Award: Brandon Stephanie

Acevedo Family Academic Scholarship: Avi Kaufman, William Parker

Acevedo Family Undergraduate Poster Prize: Jeff Leiberton

Van Allen Research Grant: Aden Hageman, Noah Wessels, Joseph Schopen

Charles A. Wert Scholarship: Aditya Venkatesh, Avi Kaufman, Mary Haag, Will Meiners, Minou Emmad, Grace Paxton, Zeke Young

Acevedo Family Research Scholarship: Aditya Venkatesh, Emily Andrews

Andrew Nelson Undergraduate Poster Prize: Owen Fiedorowicz, Noah Wessels

Student Presentation Prize, Prairie Section APS: Jeff Leiberton

Phi Beta Kappa Members: Eric Biedke, Aditya Desai, Ryan Dunn, Philippe Jay, Jeff Leiberton, Emerson Peters, Brandon Stephanie

Graduate Student Awards

G. William Pfeiffer and Marilyn M. Maltby Scholarship: John Momberg, Cecilia Fasano (renewal)

Goertz/Nicholson Memorial Scholarship: Kevin Hall

Pfeiffer Family Scholarship Renewal: Sanjay Chepuri

John and Stacey Wall Scholarship: Hossein Zandipour, Hassan Bukhari

Acevedo Family Graduate Poster Prize: Sarah Choate

Ballard and Seashore Dissertation Fellowship Recipient: Collin Brown

UI Grad College Post-Comp Research Fellowship: Cecilia Fasano

 UI Grad College Summer Fellowship: Kristie Nault

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award: Philip Griffin, Tyler Grover 

ISA Community Engagement Graduate Assistantship: Jacob Payne

 NASA FINESST Award: Kenny Buffo

Best Use of Auth0 (HackUIowa): Colin Gorgen, Stephon Berry

Staff Awards

Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Awards: Andrea Shaevitz, Dale Stille

American Physical Society Fellow: Dale Stille 

Board of Regents Staff Excellence Award: Heather Mineart

Outstanding Staff Award: Richard Dvorsky 

Longevity Awards: 35 Years, Andrea Shaevitz; 40 Years, Larry Granroth; 45 Years, William Kurth

International Travel Award: David Hartley, Ph.D.

Faculty Awards

CLAS Dean’s Scholar Award: Associate Professor David Miles

CLAS Collegiate Teaching Award: Assistant Professor Casey DeRoo

F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award: Associate Professor David Miles

APS Katherine E. Weimer Award: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

Nancy Roman Grace Technology Fellowships: Assistant Professor Casey DeRoo, Assistant Professor Keri Hoadley 

NSF Career Grant: Assistant Professor Ravitej Uppu

AGU James B. Macelwane Medal: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

Faculty Promotion

Casey DeRoo, promotion to Associate Professor with tenure.


Avi Kaufman gives a presentation at the 2024 Awards Colloquium

The program concluded with a student presentation by Avi Kaufman, “Ordered Phases in Rydberg Systems.” His faculty mentor is Professor Yannick Meurice.