IOWA

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY AWARDS COLLOQUIUM

April 23, 2024

Schedule

Recognition of Graduates Recognition of Award Recipients Student Presentations

2023-2024 Graduating Seniors (Graduating Spring 2024 unless noted)

Adrian Acosta	B.S. Physics B.S. Economics
Mehdi Assem	B.S. Physics B.S. Mathematics
Emma Burzynski	B.S. Astronomy B.A. Physics
Victor Calderon	B.S. Physics B.S. Chemistry
Kieran Coe	B.A. Physics Minor in Computer Science Minor in Mathematics
	Pursuing a J.D., University of California, Davis
Aditya Desai	B.S. Physics (Highest Distinction, Honors in the Major) B.A. Economics (Highest Distinction) Minor in Mathematics Pursuing a J.D., Harvard University
Nicholas Fellers	B.A. Astronomy B.A. Physics
Griffin Hancock	B.S. Physics B.S. Chemistry
Rafael Jensen	B.S. Physics B.S. Astronomy Minor in Mathematics
Alexander Kay	B.S. Astronomy B.S. Physics Minor in Mathematics

Jeff Leiberton	B.S. Physics (Highest Distinction, Honors in the Major)B.S. Mathematics (Highest Distinction)Minor in AstronomyPursuing a PhD in Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics, Penn State University
Tristan Noguerra	B.S. Physics
Jonathan Percy	B.S. Applied Physics
	Minor in Mathematics
	Pursuing a PhD in Medical Physics, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Joseph Schopen	B.S. Astronomy
	B.S. Physics Minor in Mathematics
Weeley Steiner	
Wesley Steiner	B.S. Astronomy B.S. Physics
	Minor in Mathematics
Kaitlyn Stick-Mueller	B.A. Physics (Highest Distinction)
·····	B.S. Mathematics (Highest Distinction)
	Pursuing a PhD in Mathematics
Chit Yam David Tai	B.S. Physics
	B.S. Astronomy
	B.S. Chemistry
Stephon Berry	B.S. Physics (Fall 2023)
Neel Dissler	Pursuing M.S in Electrical and Computer Engineering; University of Iowa
Noah Bjerke	B.S. Physics (Fall 2023)
Emilio Jarrin	Minor in Mathematics (Fall 2023)
	B.S. Physics (Fall 2023) Minor in Astronomy (Fall 2023)
	Minor in Mathematics (Fall 2023)
William Koozer	B.A. Physics (Fall 2023)
	Minor in Religious Studies (Fall 2023)
Jacob Vincel	B.A. Physics (Fall 2023)

2023-2024 Advanced Degrees

(Graduating Spring 2024 unless noted)

Dylan Blend	M.S. Physics
Collin Brown	Pursuing a PhD, University of Iowa Ph.D. Physics (Astronomy) Postdoctoral Research, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Sanjay Chepuri	Ph.D. Physics
Michael Connolly	M.S. Physics
	Pursuing a PhD, University of Iowa
Cecilia Fasano	M.S. Physics (Fall 2023)
	Pursuing a PhD, University of Iowa
Diksha Garg Sean	Ph.D. Physics (Summer 2023)
	Postdoctoral Research, University of Iowa
Gunderson	Ph.D. Physics (Astronomy) (Fall 2023) Postdoctoral Research, MIT Kavli Institute

Zheyue Hang	M.S. Physics (Fall 2023)
	Pursuing a PhD, University of Iowa
Sarah Henderson	Ph.D. Physics (Astronomy) (Fall 2023)
	Postdoctoral Research, Montana State University
Michael Hite	M.S. Physics (Fall 2023)
	Pursuing a PhD, University of Iowa
Rui Huang	M.S. Astronomy
	Pursuing PhD, University of Iowa
Jayasri Joseph	Ph.D. Physics
	Postdoctoral Research, University of Iowa
Robert Maxton	Ph.D. Physics
Salvatore Quaid	M.S. Physics
	Pursuing PhD, University of Iowa
Katrina Schrock	Ph.D. Physics (Summer 2023)
Yueguang Shi	Ph.D. Physics (Summer 2023)
	Postdoctoral Research, University of Iowa
Dustin Swarm	Ph.D. Physics (Astronomy) (Summer 2023)
	Postdoctoral Research, University of Iowa
Keith Vidal	Ph.D. Physics
Vitaly Zhuravlyov	Ph.D. Physics (Fall 2023)

2023-2024 Undergraduate Awards

Brian D. Strayer and Richard L. Rairden Scholarship in Physics

Arissa Khan Recipient: **Andrew Milne** Renewal: James A. Van Allen Award Recipients: Aditya Desai, Jeff Leiberton Acevedo Family Academic Scholarship Recipients: Avi Kaufman, William Parker Myrtle K. Maier Scholarship **Ashley Lindquist** Recipient: Renewal: **Emerson Peters Distinguished Service Award** Emma Burzynski Recipient: Undergraduate Scholar Award **Brandon Stephanie** Recipient: Van Allen Research Grant Aden Hageman, Noah Wessels, Joseph Schopen Recipient: Charles A. Wert Scholarship Recipients: Aditya Venkatesh, Avi Kaufman, Mary Haag, Will Meiners, Minou Emmad, Grace Paxton, Zeke Young Acevedo Family Research Scholarship Recipients: Aditya Venkatesh, Emily Andrews

Andrew Nelson Undergraduate Poster Prize
Recipients: Owen Fiedorowicz, Noah Wessels
Acevedo Family Undergraduate Poster Prize
Recipient: Jeff Leiberton
Student Presentation Prize, Prairie Section APS
Recipient: Jeff Leiberton
Departmental Members of Phi Beta Kappa

Eric Biedke, Aditya Desai, Ryan Dunn, Philippe Jay, Jeff Leiberton, Emerson Peters, Brandon Stephanie

2023-2024 Graduate Student Awards

Pfeiffer/Maltby Scholarship Recipient: John Momberg Cecilia Fasano Renewal: Goertz/Nicholson Memorial Scholarship Recipient: Kevin Hall Pfeiffer Family Scholarship Renewal: Sanjay Chepuri John and Stacey Wahl Scholarship Recipient: Hossein Zandipour, Hassan Bukhari Acevedo Family Graduate Poster Prize Recipient: Sarah Choate **Ballard and Seashore Dissertation Fellowship** Recipient: Collin Brown UI Grad College Post-Comp Research Fellowship Recipient: Cecilia Fasano **UI Grad College Summer Fellowship** Recipient: Kristie Nault **Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award** Recipients: Philip Griffin, Tyler Grover ISA Community Engagement Graduate Assistantship **Jacob Payne** Recipient: NASA FINESST Award Recipient: Kenny Buffo Best Use of Auth0 (HackUlowa) Recipients: Colin Gorgen, Stephon Berry

2023-2024 Staff Awards

Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Award Recipients: Andrea Shaevitz, Dale Stille American Physical Society Fellow Recipient: Dale Stille Board of Regents Staff Excellence Award Recipient: Heather Mineart U of I Outstanding Staff Award Recipient: Richard Dvorsky Longevity Awards 35 Years: Andrea Shaevitz 40 Years: Larry Granroth 45 Years: William Kurth International Travel Award Recipient: David Hartley, Ph.D.

2023-2024 Faculty Awards

CLAS Dean's Scholar Award

Recipient: Associate Professor David Miles

CLAS Collegiate Teaching Award

Recipient: Assistant Professor Casey DeRoo

F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor

Recipient: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award

Recipient: Associate Professor David Miles

APS Katherine E. Weimer Award

Recipients: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

Nancy Roman Grace Technology Fellowship

Recipients: Assistant Professor Casey DeRoo, Assistant Professor Keri Hoadley NSF Career Grant

Recipient: Assistant Professor Ravitej Uppu

AGU James B. Macelwane Medal

Recipient: Associate Professor Allison Jaynes

2023-2024 Faculty Promotions

Casey DeRoo Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Student Presentations

Avi Kaufman

"Ordered Phases in Rydberg Systems" Faculty Mentor: **Professor Yannick Meurice** Additional funding by provided by the Larry D. Travis Fund and the Physics and Astronomy Gift Fund from the University of Iowa Foundation



Physics and Astronomy