Tuesday, October 18, 2022

Three Physics and Astronomy faculty were honored at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Faculty Awards Ceremony, held Monday, Oct. 17, 2022, in the Old Capitol Senate Chambers.

Photo of Professor Fred Skiff

Prof. Frederick Skiff was appointed the Harriet and Harold Brady Chair in Laser Physics. This is an award used to support a current faculty member in the Department of Physics and Astronomy with a concentration in laser science. His research includes laser spectroscopy and plasma physics, nonlinear dynamics, optics, and photonics. Skiff currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Division of Plasma Physics for the American Physical Society.




Jasper Halekas

Prof. Jasper Halekas received the Collegiate Scholar award, which was inaugurated in 2008 to recognize mid-career faculty for exceptional achievement. 






Allison Jaynes with award from Univ. of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Allison Jaynes with CLAS Dean Sara Sanders

Associate Prof. Allison Jaynes received the Dean's Scholar Award, which recognizes faculty candidates for promotion who excel in both teaching and scholarship or creative work. 











The complete list of CLAS faculty awards can be found here.