Monday, October 17, 2022
Gregory Howes

Greg Howes, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been honored by the American Physical Society with an award for his contributions to plasma physics.

Howes received the 2022 Lev D. Landau and Lyman Spitzer Jr. award “for the theoretical development of the field-particle correlation technique and its application to spacecraft measurements directly showing that electron Landau damping plays a role in the dissipation of space plasma turbulence,” according to the society.

In 2021, Howes and a team of physicists reported in a study definitive evidence that auroras are produced by powerful electromagnetic waves, called Alfven waves, during geomagnetic storms.

The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental, or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the United States of America by joint research or research that advances knowledge which benefits the two communities in a unique way.  The Award consists of a $4000 honorarium, a certificate citing the contribution, and a registration fee waiver to attend the meeting at which the award is to be presented. The awardees are offered to give an invited talk at the forthcoming annual conference of APS-DPP or EPS-DPP.

More information about Howes' award is here