Monday, July 18, 2022

Stephen McMillan

Postdoctoral Research Scholar Stephen McMillan has been awarded the 2022 D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize in the Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering in recognition of his doctoral dissertation: “Spin-Selective Transport in Semiconductor Spintronics and Single-Defect Quantum Technology.”

The University of Iowa D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize was established to recognize excellence in doctoral research. Recipients of the D.C. Spriestersbach Prize are honored with a $2,500 award certificate, and a copy of Spriestersbach's book, "The Way It Was." Spriestersbach prizes are awarded annually in two of four broad disciplinary areas-Humanities and Fine Arts, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Engineering, Biological and Life Sciences, and Social Sciences

Professors on McMillan’s dissertation committee included: Michael Flatté (advisor), Craig Pryor, Wayne Polyzou, Yannick Meurice, and David Andersen.