IOWA

PHYSICS AND ASTRONOMY AWARDS COLLOQUIUM

April 25, 2023

Schedule

Recognition of Graduates
Recognition of Award Recipients
Student Presentations

2022-2023 Graduating Seniors

(Graduating Spring 2023 unless noted)

Alex Apple B.S. Applied Physics

Electronic Warfare Engineer, SRC Inc., Syracuse, NY

Thom Bruner B.A. Physics

B.A. Philosophy

Susanne Byrd B.S. Physics

B.S. Astronomy

Olivia Catlette B.S. Physics

B.S. Astronomy

Daniel Funke

B.A. Physics

Will Golay B.S. Astron

B.S. Astronomy (University Honors, Honors in the Department)

B.S. Physics (University Honors)

Pursuing a Ph.D. in Astronomy & Astrophysics, Harvard University B.S. Physics (Highest Distinction, Honors in the Department)

Hank HammerB.S. Physics (Highest Distinction, Honors B.S. Mathematics (Highest Distinction)

Pursuing a Ph.D. in Physics (Condensed Matter), University of Iowa

John Horne B.S. Physics (Distinction)

B.S. Astronomy (Distinction)B.S. Mathematics (Distinction)

Pursuing a Ph.D. in Physics, Utah State University

Kyle Junkunc B.S. Astronomy

B.S. Physics

Minor in Communication Studies

Pursuing a Data Analysis position

Evan Knipper B.S. Physics

Minor in Computer Science Minor in Mathematics Tristan McMillan B.S. Physics

B.A. Chemistry

Siddharth Nandanwar B.S. Physics (High Distinction, Honors in the Department)

Minor in Mathematics

Pursuing a Ph.D. in Physics (Condensed Matter), Boston College

Mel Peters B.S. Physics

B.S. Mathematics

Working in Electrical Design (R&D)

Nathan Torvik B.S. Physics

Zach VigB.S. Physics (Highest Distinction, University Honors)

(Fall 2022) B.S. Geoscience (Highest Distinction, University Honors, Honors in the Department)

Pursuing a Ph.D. in Planetary Geology, University of Maryland

2022-2023 Advanced Degrees

(Graduating Spring 2023 unless noted)

Zoe Bellis M.S. Astronomy Sarah Conley Ph.D. Physics

NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship, Princeton University

Connor Feltman M.S. Physics

(Fall 2022) Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

Jaya Joseph M.S. Astronomy

Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

Robert Q.L. Maxton M.S. Physics

Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

Jacob McLaughlin M.S. Physics

Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

David Montealegre Ph.D. Physics

(Fall 2022) Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Raaman Nair M.S. Astronomy

(Fall 2022) Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

Daniel Robert Simons Ph.D. Physics **Joseph Sink** Ph.D. Physics

(Fall 2022) Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Iowa

Riley Troyer Ph.D. Physics

Researcher, Space Dynamics Laboratory, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Vitaliy Zhuravlyov M.S. Physics

Pursuing a Ph.D., University of Iowa

2022-2023 Undergraduate Awards

Brian D. Strayer and Richard L. Rairden Scholarship in Physics

Recipient: **Arissa Khan**Renewal: **Andrew Milne**James A. Van Allen Award

Recipients: Hank Hammer, Zach Vig, Siddharth Nandanwar

Barry Goldwater Scholar

Recipient: Jeff Leiberton

Myrtle K. Maier Scholarship

Recipient: **Emerson Peters**Distinguished Achievement Award

Recipient: **Mel Peters**Distinguished Service Award

Recipients: Will Golay, Jeff Leiberton

Undergraduate Scholar Award

Recipients: Susanne Byrd, Will Golay, John Horne

Van Allen Research Grant

Recipient: Stephon Berry, Susanne Byrd, Will Meiners, Aditya Venkatesh

Shoemaker-Strickler Scholarship

Recipient: Will Parker

Iowa Space Grant Consortium Research Scholarship

Recipients: Susanne Byrd, Will Golay, Jason Homann, Jeff Leiberton, Christian

O'Brien, Jonathan Percy

Andrew Nelson Undergraduate Poster Prize

Recipients: Jacob Andrews, Aden Hageman

Charles A. Wert Scholarship

Recipient: Aditya Desai, Owen Fiedorowicz, Kyle Junkunc, Alexander Kay, Jeff

Leiberton, Jonathan Percy

Phi Beta Kappa

Members: Aditya Desai, John Horne, Philippe Jay, Jeff Leiberton, Siddarth

Nandanwar, Brandon Stephanie

2022-2023 Graduate Student Awards

G. William Pfeiffer and Marilyn M. Maltby Scholarship

Recipient: **Jared Termini** Renewal: **Cecilia Fasano**

Goertz/Nicholson Memorial Scholarship

Recipient: **Sanjay Chepuri**John and Stacey Wall Scholarship

Recipient: **David Fehr** Pfeiffer Family Scholarship

Renewal: **Sarah Henderson**Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Recipient: **Sean Gunderson**

Iowa Space Grant Consortium Graduate Fellowships

Recipients: Kenny Buffo, David Fehr, Kenton Greene, Sarah Henderson, Kristie Nault

M. Hildred Blewett Fellowship
Recipient: Kristie Nault

Ballard and Seashore Dissertation Fellowship

Recipients: **Daniel Robert Simons, Dustin Swarm**NASA Space Technology Graduate Research Opportunity

Recipient: Jared Termini

Pierazzo International Student Travel Award

Recipient: Sarah Henderson

NASA/JPL Astrophysics Design School

Recipient: Jacob Payne

CLAS Dissertation Writing Fellowship

Recipient: Sean Gunderson

Honorable Mention, AAS High Energy Astrophysics Best Student Poster Presentation

Recipient: Kenny Buffo

Top Downloaded Paper, Wiley Journal of Geophysical Research: Space Physics

Recipient: Riley Troyer

Top Paper and Editor's Pick, Physics of Plasmas

Recipient: Sarah Conley

2022-2023 Staff Awards

Mary Louise Kelley Professional Development Award

Recipient: **Dale Stille**Staff Council Members

Brad Carson CLAS Organization Representative

CLAS Staff Council (*UI Staff Council Liason*) UI Staff Council (*Communications Committee*)

Richard Dvorsky Engineering, Architecture and Facilities Management Function Representative

UI Staff Council (Awards Committee, HR Committee)

Zachary Girazian Research, Scientific Services Function Representative

UI Staff Council (Community Outreach Committee)

Darelle WilkinsonResearch, Scientific Services Function Representative
UI Staff Council (*DEl Committee*, Education Committee)

2022-2023 Postdoc Awards

D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize

Recipient: Stephen McMillan, Ph.D.

International Travel Award

Recipient: **David Hartley, Ph.D.**

Top Downloaded Paper, Wiley Journal of Geophysical Research: Space Physics

Recipient: Arya Afshari, Ph.D.

2022-2023 Faculty Awards

CLAS Collegiate Scholar Award

Recipient: **Professor Jasper Halekas**

CLAS Dean's Scholar Award

Recipient: Professor Allison Jaynes

Harriet and Harold Brady Chair in Laser Physics

Recipient: Professor Frederick Skiff

American Physical Society Fellow

Recipient: Professor Craig Kletzing

Iowa Innovators of the Year

Recipients: Professor John Prineas & Professor Fatima Toor Lev D. Landau and Lyman

Spitzer Jr. Award

Recipient: Professor Gregory Howes

OVPR Early Career Scholars Award

Recipient: Professor Ravitej Uppu

Outstanding Referee, APS Physical Review Journals

Recipient: Professor Mary Hall Reno

2022-2023 Faculty Promotions

David Miles Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Student Presentations

Will Golay

"The Iowa Robotic Observatory and the MACRO Consortium"

Faculty Mentor: Robert Mutel, professor emeritus

Hank Hammer

"Effect of Core Geometry on Spatial-encoded Quantum Information Transfer via a Multimode Fiber"

Faculty Mentor: **Professor Ravitej Uppu**

Siddharth Nandanwar

"Low-temperature infrared characterization of anisotropic van der Waals heterostructures"

Faculty Mentor: **Professor Thomas Folland**

Additional funding by provided by the Larry D. Travis Fund and the Physics and Astronomy Gift Fund from the University of Iowa Foundation



Physics and Astronomy